• An Evening with Notable Book Author Dr. Howard Markel

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    March 28, 2019

    Media Contact
    Trish Burns, Director
    Bay County Library System
    Phone:  989-894-2837 ext. 2214

    An Evening with Notable Book Author Dr. Howard Markel

    Bay City, MI—The Friends of the Bay County Libraries are pleased to present an incredible author visit and book signing with Dr. Howard Markel, who will present his latest book, “The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek”, at The State Theatre of Bay City on April 11 at 7:00 pm. The event is free and open to the public. Copies of Dr. Markel’s books will be available for purchase at the event, though you are welcome to bring your own copy for signing.

    “The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek” paints an incredible picture of more than just the cereal brand most people connect to the name. This exceptionally written slice of American history weaves the non-fiction tale of two brothers with competing ideologies. Racism, Nazi eugenics, sanitariums, industry, humanity, generosity, and corn flakes makes for a story that is wildly popular with book clubs, those who enjoy a good story about Michigan entrepreneurs, and history buffs of all types.

    A semi-finalist for the PEN America Literary Prize in Biography, “The Kelloggs…” was named Best Book of the Month (History, August 2017) by Amazon Books, Best Book of the Summer, 2017 by Newsday, Best Nonfiction Book (Biography) of the Year, 2017 by Kirkus Review, and Best Nonfiction Book of the Year, 2017 by The Boston Globe. It was also chosen by the State of Michigan Department of Education and the Library of Michigan as the “Michigan Notable Book for 2018.”

    Howard Markel, M.D., Ph.D., is the George E. Wantz Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine, director of the Center for the History of Medicine at the University of Michigan. A prolific author, Dr. Markel has written several other books and his articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Journal of the American Medical Association, and The New England Journal of Medicine. Fans of NPR and Michigan Radio may recognize Dr. Markel, who has been a guest expert on both stations. Markel is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
     
    For more information, visit the Bay County Library System website at www.baycountylibrary.org. Read more about all of Dr. Markel’s projects at www.howardmarkel.com.

  • Upcoming Events